Our Governors

The programme of Governors' Meetings for 2020/2021 is provided at the bottom of the page.

Message from the Chair of Governors, Roy Tungatt:

As Chair of Governors it gives me great pleasure in welcoming you to St John’s CE Primary school.

I am proud to lead a highly professional and committed governing body who have the learning, wellbeing and welfare of all our children at the heart of everything we do.

It is our responsibility to hold the school to account for the educational performance of its pupils, to ensure clarity of its strategic direction and to oversee the school’s finances, making sure that its money is well spent. We do this by being supportive and challenging to Mrs Notley and her senior leadership team.

Governors regularly visit the school to meet with the pupils and staff in order to gain an understanding of the curriculum, its teaching and its outcomes ensuring the welfare and safety of all pupils.


Of course, visiting a website isn’t quite like the real thing so, if you are considering our school for your child, I would encourage you to make a personal visit, I know that you will be made most welcome.


Roy Tungatt

Chair of Governors  

Staff Tungatt R Mr.jpg

Roy Tungatt

Chair of Governors

Foundation Governor/FCC

Health & Safety 
Performance Management of Headteacher 
Chair of the Pay Committee

Chair of Admissions Committee


Anne Osborne

Vice Chair of Governors

EYFS Governors

Member of  the Pay Committee


Symeon Eleftleriadis

Parent Governor

IT Governor

Overseeing School Website

Staff Gopaul S Mrs.jpg

Sophie Gopaul

Parent Governor

Inclusion Governor 
Child Protection & Safeguarding Governor 

Father Peter Godden

Foundation Governor 
RE Governor 
Collective Worship Governor

Performance Management of Headteacher

Member of Finance Committee 

Sue Notley


Member of the Finance Committee

Member of the Admissions Committee

Joe Law

Staff Governor

Member of Admission Committee

Michael Mansfield

Foundation Governor

Health and Safety

Premises Governor

Marie Sheldon

LDBS Foundation Governor

Member of Admissions Committee

Rev Dr Jonathan Dean

L.A. Governor

Safeguarding and Recruitment Governor

Governing Body Terms of Reference
Governing Body Scheme of Delegation
Code of Conduct for Governors and Structure of the Governing Body